The Top 10 Worst Neil Young Albums

Shakey indeed...

Neil Young has released nearly 50 albums in his 50+ year career. So obviously, he has to have a good amount of crap in his catalog. Last week, I counted down what are, in my humble opinion, The Top Ten Best Neil Young Albums. This week, I’ll have a little fun with one of my favorite songwriters and poke a little at some of his biggest missteps. If available, I’ll include “The Best of The Worst”, as each of these albums still has at least one good song.

10. Chrome Dreams II (2007)
First of all, the original Chrome Dreams was never officially released, so shouldn’t we have gotten that one first? Or is he doing some sort of Star Wars thing? The point is that there is really no point to all of the sequel nonsense, unless all the songs were recorded together but released separately or something like that. I will say that the 18+ minute “Ordinary People” presents exactly what Neil Young fans have come to know and love about him—a damn fine tune, and an EP’s length in itself. But it’s the only good song on the record, and was originally meant to be included on a different album long before this one. (See #7)

9. Greendale (2003)
Greendale may have been a bold venture for Young—a concept album that was acted out on stage by a large cast of actors on the subsequent tour—but it was not a very good one. Though critics predictably ate the whole thing up, I was bored by the meandering, directionless nature of most of the songs, and by Young’s use of obvious dialog in his lyrics. Though the album does boast one great song (“Bandit”) and an admirable focus on the environment, it all seems a little too synthetic for how weighty it wants to be.

8. Re.Act.Or (1981)
This was Young’s attempt to fuse his sound with the more popular sound of the time, new wave. On 1979’s Rust Never Sleeps, Young began hinting at his fascination for punk and this growing trend, and I guess this was only the natural progression of things. But man, it’s just painful to listen to these guys try to rock to some of these songs, and some of Young’s attempted humor and satire just misses the mark completely.

7. This Note’s For You (1988)
6. Everybody’s Rockin’ (1983)
Both of these albums were genre experiments with famous backing bands. This Note’s for You wins out as the better album because its title track is actually a really sweet tune. “I ain’t singin’ for Pepsi/I ain’t singin’ for Coke/I don’t sing for nobody/Makes me look like a joke” Young scowls over one of his trademark riffs, while the grandiose Blue Notes add a brassy spice to it all. Granted, the rest of the record doesn’t work nearly as well. It’s more or less the same story with Everybody’s Rockin’. Young’s foray into rockabilly (originals and covers) with the Shocking Pinks may be under 25 minutes long, but getting through it feels like an eternity. The album’s one semi-redeeming moment, “Kinda Fonda Wanda”, is still just silly. It should be noted that in 1984, this album sparked Geffen Records’ decision to sue Young for making “uncharacteristic, uncommercial records”. R.E.M. then heard about this and decided to go with Warner Bros. Natch.

5. Trans (1982)
When asked what the worst Neil Young album is, many people will answer “Trans” because it stands out among all of Young’s work as the strangest and most alienating album he has ever done. This is definitely true, but it’s not the worst one. Sure, the use of vocoder on most of the lead vocals and the overall electronic feel of the record is extremely off-putting, but the fact that Trans was spawned from an experiment of Young’s to attempt to better communicate with his cerebral palsy stricken son makes it a somewhat noble venture.

Here’s the original…

…and here’s the acoustic version, which is way better…

4. Old Ways (1985)
An album of old-timey country songs, Old Ways was spawned from an idea that was originally rejected by Geffen. After getting his new record deal, it was one of the first projects on Young’s agenda. Though he sounds very committed to the overall theme of the album, the enthusiasm of the players doesn’t take away from the sheer boredom the listener feels. For a better version of a more countrified Neil Young, check out 1977’s Comes A Time.

3. Landing on Water (1986)
Crash landing. Horribly produced with forgettable, second-rate tunes, this was Young in the horrid thick of his Geffen deal in the 80’s, which spawned most of his worst music. Something just must have not clicked from the beginning with those two parties, because it was a partnership that never worked. Mostly, the albums of this era were more products of the artistic restraint Young was feeling at the time—sarcastic, satirical jabs at the industry that probably gave him some satisfaction to create. They’re just hard to listen to.

2. Life (1987)
This 80’s schlock-fest presents NY & Crazy Horse at their most limp and forgettable, and is easily their biggest embarrassment. The production is painfully glossy, with a digital sheen that makes it all but unlistenable. The tunes are cheesy and vapid. It seems as if Young was trying to get back to his old rocking self here, but it was definitely a misstep. And—surprise!—it was also his last album for Geffen records, signaling the near-end of Young’s painful 80’s era.

1. Are You Passionate? (2002)
For how bad Young’s 80’s output was, this later installment is the most intolerable Neil Young album for me. It was a noble experiment—members of his longtime band collaborated with Booker T. and the MG’s to create a soul-laced version of a Neil Young record. But, aside from the epic “Going Home”, there are no tunes here whatsoever. Plus, this album contains Neil Young’s worst song to date, the ill-advised 9/11 anthem, “Let’s Roll”. When this came out, it echoed Alan Jackson’s “Where Were You When the World Stopped Turning?”, and it was one of the first times I truly doubted Young’s decision-making…and songwriting.

Warning: There is nothing good about what I have posted below.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

56 Responses to “The Top 10 Worst Neil Young Albums”

  1. ianbalentine Says:

    Hey man, love the blog. Especially enjoyed your Top 100 of the decade lists. BUT…but…how can any top 10 of the 00’s not contain XTRMTR by Primal Scream?
    That little qualm aside, I agreed with most. You seem to have a good grasp on what good music’s all about. If you get a chance pop over to my little blog and let me know what you think. I’ll add you to my blogroll.

    Cheers!

    Uncle E

    http://unclee.wordpress.com/

  2. Bewlay Says:

    Wow, i have to disagree about re*ac*tor. I think it’s a great Crazy Horse rave up. “Surfer Joe” and “Shots” are classic, primal songs.
    And I think “Living With War” is one of the worst records I heard of his recently. If I was in office I would have not paid any mind. Stinker.

    • recordgeekheaven Says:

      I appreciated the spontaneity of Living With War. While a lot of the songs weren’t good, it felt natural and honest. It feels to me on Re-Ac-Tor they are trying too hard to do a certain thing.

  3. jefferson city news tribune Says:

    Hello this is amazing site! really perfect and can be a new inspirations for me

  4. Trekking in Nepal Says:

    You need to add a retweet button to your blog. I just “liked” this post, but had to do it manually. Just my $.02 🙂

  5. ray Says:

    Neil has had some weird albums great albums and some bad albums his new cd to me is in the top 5 LaNoise is a Solo album it is great.

  6. rastronomicals Says:

    The dislike, nay even hatred, which surrounds re-act-or and Living With War continues to confound me.

    Neil! Heavy! Raw! Rockin’ Out!

    So what’s the problem?

    Seriously, re-act-or might be my alltime most underrated album from any artist. Living With War wouldn’t be in that Top Ten, ‘coz the songs aren’t as good, but it’s underrated, too.

    That someone could love, say, Tonight’s the Night, for it’s spontaneity and its rawness, yet take issue with re-act-or . . . I don’t get it.

    On the other hand, Le Noise has left me cold. I try to tell myself it’s just like his acoustic stuff but electric, but the message doesn’t get through.

    • recordgeekheaven Says:

      Rastronomicals – First of all, thank you SO MUCH for reading and commenting! Secondly, I agree with you that LWW and Reactor have that vintage NY rawk sound, but what they don’t have is the tunes. I wouldn’t trade any song on either of those records for any of the jams on Tonight’s the Night, no matter how slow and depressing a record it is. Reactor does have some moments, and looking back on it, I should have put LWW in its palce on the worst-of list. I really don’t like LWW at all.

  7. Bewlay Says:

    Rastronomicals, you’re right about Le Noise. Nothing really there. Neil’s an example of an artist I really like that doesn’t have that much to say anymore.

  8. rastronomicals Says:

    Belway, not gonna go there. Can’t get into Le Noise, but for all I know, his next album’ll be great. I don’t think he’s done, necessarily. I don’t even think he’s probably done. His entire career he’s pulled great albums off exactly when you thought he had nothing in the tank.

    So Le Noise stinks. I don’t think it means anything one way or the other.

    • recordgeekheaven Says:

      I gotta say I agree with Rastro on that one, as far as NY is concerned, anyway. NY is proof that any artist can bounce back from any sort of rut. I mean, look at all those shitty 80’s albums he gave us before we got classics like Freedom, Harvest Moon, Sleeps with Angels and the like? The dude still has fight left in him, and he will make one more classic album before he dies – if only to prove his detractors wrong! Sadly, Le Noise was not that album. If I had made the “Worst Of” list after its release, it would have been in the top 5. Truly a turd record.

  9. rastronomicals Says:

    Whoops I meant Bewlay, sorry.

  10. nic Says:

    need to disagree with your opinions about both le noise and this note’s for you. the latter is really awsome jazzy rock stuff with cool riffs and a great brass section throughout the album. The electronic effects and the distortion on Le Noise can be a little irritating, I agree, but it’s still a fascinating mixture of classic Neil Young songs and a new attitude encouraged by Daniel Lanois. Both albums are certainly at the very least enjoyable!

    • recordgeekheaven Says:

      I must say that upon further listening, I’ve realized “This Note’s For You” isn’t all bad. In retrospect, it probably doesn’t belong on this list. The song “This Note’s For You” is great, and there are a few other gems as well. I think, at the time of writing this, I was a little nonplussed by it, but it has kind of grown on me.

  11. bewlay Says:

    Check out “A Treasure” with the International Harvesters, it’s really great. This excites me a lot more than his “new” releases. I can’t say much for the recent Buffalo Springfield show I watched on Youtube. It’s okay, Richie Furay was inspiring. Neil and Stills, not so much.

  12. Raj Says:

    I have always loved Trans. It’s music and lyrics were years ahead of it time. I have played it for some friends who are in the electronica genre. The couldn’t believe anyone outside of classical music was doing anything like that that in the early 80s.

    You seem to be fulfilling the old adage: those who can do, those you can’t teach, those who can’t do either of those become critics or self-important whiney little geeks with blogs.

    • recordgeekheaven Says:

      I appreciate the comments, despite their sour tone. I really just do this for fun; it’s not about trying to push my opinions on others. It’s just something I do to pass the time, because I love music. I really love Neil too, and there have been plenty of people who have taken issue with me putting Trans on this list. I agree that it has good songs on it, I’m just not the biggest fan of the production. Also, I’m not JUST a self-important critic – I do actually make music as well. http://www.facebook.com/thedeadgirls I guess whether or not this helps or hurts my case depends on your personal opinion of my music, but the point is, I do plenty of other music-related things besides sitting and bitching about it. 🙂

  13. Johan Says:

    I know you’re doing this just for fun but you’ve helped me a lot and I suspect a lot of other Neil Young fans. I love him probably more than anyone besides the Smiths and maybe Sinead but have felt bad about not liking everything he’s done equally at all. I like Trans a lot and even Landing on Water (appeals to my totally 80’s side I guess) and I LOVE Greendale, but you’ve made me feel a lot better about being turned off by most of the other albums on this page! Thanks!

    • recordgeekheaven Says:

      No problem, thanks a ton for reading and commenting! I am just doing this for fun, and I realize my opinion doesn’t reflect everyone else’s; I just kind of did both of these lists as a tribute to one of my all time favorite songwriters. Glad you enjoyed it!

  14. Travis Says:

    I love how all the horrid albums came in the 80’s not surprising what a sh*t decade for music!

    • Johan Says:

      Three of them including the worst one came out within the last 10 years and that doesn’t even include LivingWithWar which everyone except this page agrees is totally lame. We’re definitely in another questionable period right now.

      • recordgeekheaven Says:

        Yeah, things have been pretty spotty for him lately. I think I said this in another comment somewhere, but I really don’t like Living With War that much at all. I think I left it out of this list because it was one of those records Neil just kind of banged out really fast in the studio, and that’s an aspect I kind of respect about it. It doesn’t sound horrible, either, for what it is at least. But the tunes are terrible – I can’t think of one song on it that’s even decent. Maybe it should have gone on this list instead of Chrome Dreams II, since that album has at least one good song, “Ordinary People”. But the thing about “People” is that it was written more than 20 years ago and it’s almost 20 minutes long – it’s a great song, but it seems like a cop out to put a song like that on an album that just has 10 other shitty tunes on it. “People” deserved better than that, especially after sitting around for so long. “Silver and Gold” got it’s own album for Chrissake, and that song was written a long time ago, too. I’m overanalyzing, I know, but I just don’t always understand Young’s decision-making. He’s one stubborn, shakey dude.

    • recordgeekheaven Says:

      No kidding. You would think maybe if anyone was going to turn things around it would have been Neil, but alas, he was on the coke just like most everyone else at that time. A lot of judgement was clouded.

  15. Itellyouwhatman,shoot Says:

    Some of the list was dead on, some of it made me open my mouth and say “whaaaat??”

    ‘Greendale’ and ‘living with war’ should definitely be on the list.

    ‘Are You Passionate?’ yeah ok, I don’t know if it should be number one on the list (Greendale or LWW for me) but yeah not my favorite either.

    I was absolutely flabbergasted to see ‘Life’ on there. That kinda bums me out to see other Neil fans that don’t like it. Is it my favorite NY album ever? No, but I’m not hearing the cheesiness… maybe some of the ‘techno’ parts sound cheesy to us here in the future, I don’t know… whatever.

    Chrome Dreams II?? I actually like that album, I don’t really care if it’s a sequel to an unreleased album (what difference does that make?) it’s the music that I like.

    I thought Reactor kicked ass too. To me that’s classic Neil.

    Trans, and Landing on Water, Old Ways, and the Shocking Pink stuff to me were experimental albums- I wouldn’t say they were bad- in order to properly critique these I think you need to put on a different set ‘music’ glasses, or hearing aids, or whatever, fuck you. The point is, if you really only like straight-up Neil Young rock, (and you hate ‘techno’, or old-timey country or doo-wop ) you probably won’t give them a fair shake out of the context of their genres (e.g. all country songs are going to sound bad to someone who hates country, so I wouldn’t really care to hear his opinions on country songs).

    The way I see it, these three albums are like the varying types of Mountain Dew- Mountain Dew fiends will probably all agree that the original flavor is the best, but some of the one-time or novelty flavors aren’t for all Mountain Dew drinkers. Some of them really like Code Red, others hate it. Does it mean Code Red was bad? No, it just means some loved it and some hated it. I happen to like most of the stuff from these albums, but I could understand why others wouldn’t.

    However, I think Greendale and LWW were pretty much just cans of Neil Young that were way past expired and spent the day in the sun, they WERE just bad.

    I really liked Le Noise by the way, I thought it was refreshing to hear Neil jamming out again.

    Rock and Roll will never die!

    • recordgeekheaven Says:

      I totally agree with you about the many “varieties” of Neil Young – that’s precisely why this list was so hard to make. It’s all just my opinion, obviously, and everyone is allowed to have one. The main reason I did this was simply because Neil has so much music and I thought it would be fun to hold it all up to my filter, so to speak. If you’ll notice by the comments, you aren’t the only person to disagree with some of my choices, and that’s perfectly OK. You obviously have great love for Mr. Young’s work, and I greatly appreciate you reading and commenting. Thank you!

    • Johan Says:

      You should try Greendale again. Turn it up loud if you think the words are corny or something and listen to the music…. it’s just beautiful.

  16. Symon Says:

    If you say it’s crap, that’ll do me!

    NOT !!!

    • recordgeekheaven Says:

      Symon, thank you so much for your eloquent and insightful comments, as well as your timely use of modern slang!

      I’d like to point out that I don’t write this blog to tell people what is “crap” and what is not. I do it because I like to write about music. If you want to take it as a series of reccommendations, great! But, this is really just a place for me to ramble about the music in my life. With that said, your comment leads me to believe that one of my inclusions in the Worst Of list has offended you, and believe me, you are not the first! I never realized how polarizing NY’s music was until I posted this list, but it totally makes sense – he is a mercilessly adventurous artists who does just about whatever he wants to do, and different people will take a shine to the different sides of himself that he presents. Anyway, thanks for reading!

  17. aTrueCanadianFan Says:

    Although I don’t necessarily agree with your choices I thoroughly enjoy studying other people’s interpretations of Neil’s Young, because it is so diverse. Funnily enough today I was just thinking how “Let’s Roll” is my favourite Neil Young song. Thanks for the list!

    • Johan Says:

      I was put off of sampling “Are You Passionate” by this very page until practically memorizing all his other albums but when I finally tried it I loved it! Still haven’t gotten into ‘Let’s Roll’ at all but I dare anyone to listen to ‘Mr Disappointment’ 8 times in a row and not fall in love. ‘When I Hold You in My Arms’, ‘Quit’ ‘She’s a Healer’ and ‘Differently’ are fantastic too. I don’t know if I could ever attempt a list like this because I love all NY’s albums so much but if I did number one would definitely not be AYP. In fact maybe I’ll just try it… now that I think about it I do agree more than half of this page’s selections, but Greendale, Trans, Landing on Water, and Are You Passionate don’t belong here no way!

      0 Le Noise
      9 Hawks & Doves
      8 Chrome Dreams II
      7 Everybody’s Rockin’
      6 This Note’s for You
      5 Fork in the Road
      4 Living With War
      3 Old Ways
      2 Reactor
      1 Life

      And for all the naysayers that say NY is about washed up I hope that Americana proved you wrong! I think it’s one of his best albums yet and it’s totally different… he still hasn’t fallen into making “typical NY albums”; maybe he never will! I could listen to it all day. Can’t wait for the next one!

  18. jim Says:

    you sir (recordgeekheaven) are a douch bag
    maybe justin biaber is more to your taste

    • recordgeekheaven Says:

      Hmmmm, thanks for reading, but I appreciate discourse, not directionless slagging. With that said, I’ve never heard Justin Biaber (pronounced Bee-Ah-Ber?), but I’ll keep an ear out.

  19. john Says:

    My BOTTOM 5 Neil Young records ..5.. Prairie Wind…4 Are you Passionate 3.. Silver and Gold…2. Road rock …1.. FORK IN THE ROAD…

    • john Says:

      WOW, IM SO TURNED OFF BY NEILS LATER WORK, I COMPLETELY FORGOT ABOUT LENOISE AND AMERICANA.. BUT , THEN AGAIN, THEY WERE SO BAD I DONT EVEN CONSIDER THEM REAL ALBUMS…HE HASN’T MADE A GREAT ALBUM IS ANGELS……HE NEEDS,AN UPDATE. BUT SOME CLASSIC ROCKERS JUST CAN’T UPDATE THEIR SOUND. HE’S STILL ONE OF MY FAVOURITE ARTIST FROM THE 6O’ S… BUT HE’S BECOMING A PARODY.

      • recordgeekheaven Says:

        HAHAHAHHA! I agree with you about Le Noise – totally uninteresting, and disappointing considering the level of producer he had in Daniel Lanois. I didn’t even listen to Americana because frankly, I have no interest in hearing ANYONE’S take on traditional American music, even a great artist like Neil’s. Furthermore, I do agree that much of his later work seems as if it has been vreated to match a template rather than being truly inspired. However, I have been listening to his new album with Crazy Horse called Psychedelic Pill, and I have really been loving it. Still nothing really new, but it has all you would expect of a classic Crazy horse record.

    • recordgeekheaven Says:

      John, thank you for reading and for giving your input! I don’t hate all of your bottom 5 albums, though. I’m not a huge fan of Prairie Wind, but I do think it has some good moments. And this may be a pretty unpopular opinion, but Silver and Gold is actually one of my favorite late-period Neil albums. Even though it was originally written in the early 80’s, the title track is classic NY, and I love a lot of other songs on it as well.

      • Gary Says:

        I like Americana. I was not excited when I heard he was covering the standards but Neil and Crazy Horse add their own interpretation to them.
        I have only heard one song off Psychedelic Pill and I’m not sure if I want to hear such long-winded jams but I am open-minded enough to give it a shot.

      • recordgeekheaven Says:

        There is indeed some long-winded jamming on Pill – the first song is 27 minutes, and two others are over 15. But the other 6 are pretty standard length. The long stuff really doesn’t bother me that much anyway – I think some of Young’s best works are the long songs, like “Change Your Mind” from Sleeps With Angels, the live version of “Cortez”, “Ordinary People” from Chrome Dreams II, and on and on.

      • Libra Tapes Says:

        I agree with you about Silver and Gold being good. Actually one of my post 70s favourites. It is very calming and beautiful. Razor Love I could listen to on repeat for days. His performance of that song on snl was the best. Even the songs that sound lame at first…like daddy went walking, have really pretty moments and great singing and you remember why you are still listening to it.

      • recordgeekheaven Says:

        Yes, thank you! It does have some songs that are kinda cheesey – like “Daddy Went Walking”, as you mentioned – but I love the honesty of the songs. “Buffalo Springfield Again” is a classic, I think. And “Razor Love” and “Without Rings” are unforgettable Neil. Again, a lot of these songs were originally written about 20 years before they were officially released on this record, so that certainly has something to do with the old time Neil feel.

    • Johan Says:

      If you don’t like Road Rock (or Americana for that matter) I think you need to turn up your stereo more! Something like Tonight’s the Night can just be left tinkling away in the background like restaurant jazz but with any modern horse record you have to seriously crank it. And Psychedelic Pill is awesome if you crank the long songs way up too! I agree that the 3 or 4 albums before the two new ones are pretty lame.

      • rastronomicals Says:

        I think Americana is very strong work. If Psychedelic Pill is as good, I’ll be happy. If it’s better I’ll be ecstatic

      • recordgeekheaven Says:

        Pill is great. It kinda reminds me of Ragged-Glory-era Crazy Horse….kinda plodding and a little samey, but still a good no-holds-barred rock record.

      • recordgeekheaven Says:

        I think you are selling Tonight’s the Night a little short and are maybe putting too much importance on sheer volume over actual substance. For instance, Nickelback probably sounds a lot better if turned up really loud, because that’s what music like that is made for. But it’s still going to suck. OK, shame on me for using those asshats in the same paragraph at NY, but still….I just really love TTN and I feel like it gets a lot of shit for being on the mellower side. Sure, it helps to be in a certain mood when listening to it, but song-wise, it’s still got more of a classic-for-classic lineup of tunes than most of his records.

      • Johan Says:

        I didn’t mean that TTN should be left quiet in the background. It can be played loud and I definitely think it’s one of his best albums and certainly one of my favourites but it sounds great played soft too. But Psychedelic Pill and Americana are amazingly cool played loud and just kind of annoying played at regular volume. I love them both loud. And as for not wanting to hear anyone’s take on American traditional music, I certainly understand not wanting to hear those crappy old songs re-done but I assure you that anyone that loves those songs would probably not like the album at all. He flips them and makes them into dreadful dirges instead of the happy snappy songs that we all had to sing at boyscout camp etc. Try it! But loud! PS S&G is one of my favourite NY albums especially Razor Love and Without Rings.

  20. Jose Says:

    Completely right on! Totally agree on all fronts. Particularly “are you passionate” God awful.

    • recordgeekheaven Says:

      Thanks, Jose! While I can appreciate (sort of) the fact that it was a pretty bold experiment, it was still a FAILED bold experiment.

      • Johan Says:

        I love that album but it doesn’t seem too bold to me. It’s just melodic songs along the lines of Silver and Gold with a nice fuzzy electric guitar instead of acoustic. I’d give it a few more listens if I were you. It’s nice.

      • recordgeekheaven Says:

        Not saying that the songs themselves were bold. I was referring to the fact that he wrote/recorded the album with Booker T and the MG’s to give it an old school R&B feel. This choice obviously stems from an appreciation Young has for their music and I think that’s awesome. However, I just don’t think it was executed well. Sorry, man. 😦

  21. Daniel Droukis Says:

    I can’t condemn Trans due to the reasoning behind its creation. I completely agree with “Are you Passionate” as the all-time worst Neil Young CD (LP). I base my choices on how little I listened to it. This would be followed by “Everybody’s Rockin” which I didn’t expect to like when I got it and wasn’t surprised by the unappealing content. There is a lot of material out there for us to choose from unlike most artists who have careers that are nowhere near this long. Almost 50 years of music is quite a collection to select from. We are lucky that we have so few clunkers in such a vast collection. The most disappointing thing is all the non-recorded songs which have only recently been released or yet to be released.

    • recordgeekheaven Says:

      Totally agreed, good sir! I only made this list to sort of “study” the albums I didn’t like and why, but yes, it’s hard to pick the worst ones out of such a great collection.

      • Daniel Droukis Says:

        You did a great job in compiling the list and I applaud both your efforts and dedication to the music of Neil Young.

  22. gouds1909 Says:

    I have been following Neil Young since aged 13 when Rust Never Sleeps came out. His best year, but I am a Neil Young fanatic I have to say; -so hard for me to dislike any Neil Young album; -except Broken Arrow. Love ‘Big Time’, but never play any other tracks from that album, whereas every other Neil Young album I play mostly in its entirity, extracting a few songs that i don’t like very much. I am such a fanatic Neil Young fan, I actually compiled his best 300 songs in order in early 2011, and I still agree with that order in 2014, except i haven’t updated it to include America or Pill tracks. No.300 is Hitchhiker from Le Noise and No.1 is After the Goldrush from Live Rust.

    • Johan Says:

      Wow I guess there’s room for all types of NY fans in this world. As I said I love most of his albums but Broken Arrow is definitely my favourite, and it’s not because I have fond memories of it or anything because I’ve only been a NY fan for about 15 years. Every song is just so moody and mellow and jamming etc. In fact I just paid $150 for a new old stock vinyl copy so I could hear it the way NY wants me to hear it. I think Sleeps with Angels thru Greendale is the best run of 6 albums in his career, at least since Everybody Knows thru Zuma. P.S. Anybody want to add either of his two new albums, Letter Home or Storytone, to this list of worst albums?

  23. Promocion musical#16. Desarrollando tu marca (2) | Rock & Post Says:

    […] podría atreverme a afirmar que Neil Young mató su carrera con el álbum de electrónica “Trans” que solo le mantuvo próximo a sus más acérrimos seguidores, del mismo modo Chris Cornell […]

  24. Gary Says:

    Storytone is awful, definitely one of his worst albums.

Leave a comment