Listening Log: Wednesday, February 17th 2010

4AD 1993

Album of the Day: Red House Painters Red House Painters (Rollercoaster)

I didn’t hear this album until the very end of the day, and right now as I am about to go to bed, I am still listening to it. Red House Painters are perfect music for any night, or for foggy days, or for driving around at dusk or something. It’s usually pretty depressing stuff, but even listening to it now, I can’t say I am particularly sad or anything. I mean, like anyone else, I have worries in my life, but I really just enjoy this record for its elegant and spacious songwriting and, of course, Mark Kozelek’s iconic voice.

EMI 1983

Albums to Revisit: David Bowie Let’s Dance

I finally made it through this whole record! It took me awhile to get up the nerve to even try–I mean, I’ve never been a big fan of “China Girl”. But, “Modern Love” is a classic, and I can hang with the title track despite it’s 7-minute-plus running time. Honestly, though, the main reason I finally listened to “Let’s Dance” all the way through has to do with hearing Quentin Tarantino’s use of “Cat People” in “Inglorious Basterds”, his kickass movie from 2009. I’ll be playing it again soon, I think.

2/17/10

Yo La Tengo “May I Sing With Me” ***1/2
Yo La Tengo “I Am Not Afraid of You and I Will Beat Your Ass” ****
Yes “The Yes Album” ***1/2
David Bowie “Let’s Dance” ***
Field Music “Measure” ***
Red House Painters “Red House Painters (Rollercoaster)” ****1/2

Total Albums Heard: 6

***** Classic
**** Awesome
*** Good
** So-So
* Nope

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

